By: Gonzalez Law
Share This Post
Texas Auto Insurance
Lone Star state law requires every driver to have auto liability insurance. In addition, if money is still owed to the car, lenders require drivers to carry collision and comprehensive coverage as well. Texas auto insurance policies covers damages, injuries, and other losses accounted for by your policy. Every now and then, review your policy and check for the exclusions section which details all of the things it doesn’t provide coverage for. Familiarize yourself with the Declarations page (front page of the policy) which lists important information like your policy number and coverage/deductible amounts.
Texas auto insurance is supplemented with an automobile insurance Consumer Bill of Rights. Geico, State Farm, or any other auto insurance carrier in Texas can send you a copy of your policy or policy renewal, which you should read to know how Texas law covers you.
Texas Drivers Bill of Responsibilities
All Texas drivers are required to show proof of financial responsibility when it comes to paying for accidents they’re at fault for. Auto liability insurance holds the key for most Texas drivers. According to Texas law, each injured person falls under a minimum coverage of $20,000 and up to $40,000 for everyone involved in the accident, in addition to $15,000 worth of property damage. In Texas, this form of coverage is dubbed ’20/40/15′ coverage. However, many Texas drivers may find that basic coverage is not adequate enough. Buy more than the basic policy if you feel you will be held liable one day for an accident (poor display of confidence, yet needed!)
Penalties for violations Texas state financial responsibility laws are stiff. A fine between $175 to $350 is the punishment for your first offense. Additional offenses can result in fines from $350 to $1000, a driver’s license suspension, and possess of your vehicle by the state.